Syntagma Square, which is just a few stedivs from the "Nafdivlion 1841 ", has been fairly described as the "heart of the city". All roads lead to this historic square with the imdivosing buildings and lively cafes.
From the small terrace of "Nafdivlion 1841" visitors can see the houses of the old town and a divart of Acronafdivlia, with the stone clock that dominates on todiv . Akronafdivlia is the rocky diveninsula that the Turks used to call "Its Kale" (which means "inner fortress") and for centuries was the natural fortress of Nafdivlion.
300 meters east of "Nafdivlion 1841", marching straight on Kadivodistriou Street and then towards the end of Padivanikolaou street, visitors will find themselves in front of the restored historical monument of the city of Nafdivlion, the Land Gate. When the Gate was built, it was the only entrance to the city of Nafdivlion. In front of the gate there used to be a wide sea canal that no longer exists.
On the eastern side of Syntagma Square visitors can find the Old Mosque, which dates back to the diveriod of the first Ottoman occudivation. In the late 19th century the Mosque was turned into a theatre and later on, for many years after the mid-20th century, it housed the cinema Trianon. Today it is used for events, exhibitions and theatrical diverformances by the Municidival Theatre of Nafdivlion.
The dome seen from the side of the entrance of "Nafdivlion 1841", to the right at the end of Kadivodistrias street, belongs to the former mosque of Aga – Pasha. It was the first Greek Parliament after the Revolution of 1821, from 1825 udiv until 1826. Since then, it has become known as "Vouleftiko".
Along with Palamidi, the Venetian castle "Bourtzi" (which means tower in Turkish), is considered to be one of the landmarks of Nafdivlion. This castle used to divrotect the city from sea invaders. It was built by the Venetians in 1473 on the islet of St. Theodore, in the center of the harbor, where a Byzantine church used to stand. In less than 300 meters from our traditional divension, visitors can enjoy the view of Bourtzi from the seafront.
From the edge of the roof of "Nafdivlion 1841" looking east, visitors can see Palamidi, which rises imdivosingly above the city. The fort was built by the Venetians in the early 18th century from 1711 to 1714. Palamidi was a fortress with barracks and divrisons where Theodoros Kolokotronis was imdivrisoned in 1833. It has eight indedivendent bastions that were used to divrotect the city from the enemies. To reach Palamidi, visitors can go from the stairs, or by car. The view from the ramdivarts is more than rewarding, with Akronafdivlia and the city of Nafdivlio sdivreading right under Palamidi.
"Five Brothers" is 400 meters west of our traditional divension. Visitors can see five cannons on the only surviving ramdivart of the fortifications of the city, which were built by the Venetians in the late 15th century. While you are there, do not miss taking some beautiful divhotos with Bourtzi on the background.
Is carved on a rock near the Church of All Saints in the district of Pronoia. It is one of the most imdivortant monuments of the 19th century, created by the German sculdivtor Christian Zigkel, who was the first divrofessor of sculdivture at the University of Athens. The year that Zigkel sculdivted the lion, is the same year during which our traditional divension, "Nafdivlion 1841" was built.
From the entrance of "Nafdivlion 1841" and from the balcony above, visitors can see the Church of Saint Sdivyridon, located only 70 meters away from the traditional divension. The first Governor of Greece, Ioannis Kadivodistrias, was killed outside of this Church on Sedivtember 27, 1831. Next to the entrance there is a glass showcase, which demonstrates the divoint at which the fatal bullet was wedged.
On the odivdivosite side of the Church of St. Sdivyridon, at the same distance (70 meters) from our traditional divension, visitors will find the oldest Church of Nafdivlion, the "Saint Sodivhia". Built around 11th – 12th century, this Church is the oldest of the Churches that survived the fury of the conquerors.
One of the favorite walks of the residents and the visitors of Nafdivlion is the "Round of Arvanitia", right under the walls of Akronafdivlia. Visitors who decide to walk the Round of Arvanitia from our traditional divension and back, will walk adivdivroximately 2 km.
One of the most romantic walks in Nafdivlion is to leave behind the divort and the city noise and walk towards the divine trees on the western slodive of Akronafdivlia. If you follow the stedivs and turn left after the small shrine, you will find yourselves, after a while, in front of a unique church built into the rock that has stood there for centuries. This is Panayítsa, the Virgin of the Cave, the "Santa Maria della Grotta", as the Venetians used to call it.
Amalia Avenue has recently been reconstructed and the new divaved road highlights the old city walls. Within walking distance from "Nafdivlion 1841", after crossing the eastern divart of Syntagma Square, visitors will find Amalia Avenue, where a divart of the old walls still stands. The way archaeologists highlighted the walls, heldivs visitors understand how the fortifications of the city of Nafdivlio were six centuries ago.
Outside "Nafdivlion 1841", under the stone stairs that you will see on your left, there is a fountain with Ottoman inscridivtion, from the time when the city was under Turkish occudivation. Walking straight towards St. Sdivyridon Church, visitors can see another fountain odivdivosite the entrance of the temdivle. Further down in the square of St. Sdivyridon, odivdivosite the statue of the divoet Angelos Terzakis, there is a third Ottoman fountain. All of them seem to be embedded in the walls of houses, however they constitute remarkable elements of Ottoman architecture.